Committee

The ultimate responsibility for the success of the Banff Pork Seminar rests with the Advisory Committee whose members represent organizations with a major role in the sponsorship and organization of the Seminar and the interests of the pork industry at large. The Advisory Committee meets two to three times per year to develop plans for the next year’s Seminar and to delegate responsibilities to achieve these goals. The Advisory Committee determines all aspects of policy in the development, execution and financial management of the Seminar.

The Banff Pork Seminar Advisory Committee elects industry representatives to serve for a term of 3 years. If you are interested in joining the Advisory Committee, please contact a current member.

The Advisory Committee for the 2024 Banff Pork Seminar is:

Name Company City Email
Chair 
Steve Davies Maple Leaf Agri-Foods Carman, MB steve.davies@mapleleaf.com 
Program Directors
Ruurd Zijlstra AFNS, University of Alberta Edmonton, AB ruurd.zijlstra@ualberta.ca
Michael Dyck
AFNS, University of Alberta Edmonton, AB michael.dyck@ualberta.ca
Advisory Committee 

Javier Bahamon

Alberta Pork Edmonton, AB javier.bahamon@albertapork.com
Maaike Campbell Birnam Pork Warwick Township, ON maaike.campbell@ontariopork.on.ca
Lindsay Case PIC Montreal, QC lindsay.case@genusplc.com 
Melissa Da Costa Baseline Pork Harley, ON melissa@baselinepork.com
Jen Demare Swine Health Professionals Steinbach, MB jdemare@shpswine.com
Andrew Fenton DNA Genetics London , ON afenton@dnaswinegenetics.com  
Jennifer Hannesson Alberta Agriculture & Forestry Edmonton, AB jennifer.hannesson@gov.ab.ca
Samuel Lefebvre Jyga Technologies Saint-Lambert-de-Lauzo, QC samuel.lefebvre@jygatech.com 
Murray Pettitt Prairie Swine Centre Saskatoon, SK murray.pettitt@usask.ca 
Rick Prejet Porcherie Lac du Onze Notre Dame de Lourdes, MB rick.prejet@pldo.ca
Ben Willing

AFNS, University of Alberta Edmonton, AB willing@ualberta.ca 
Cordell Young Precision Veterinary Services Lethbridge, AB cordell@precisionvet.ca
Zhenbin Zhang Cargill Animal Health & Nutrition London, ON zhenbin_zhang@cargill.com 
Conference Coordinator
Ashley Steeple AFNS, University of Alberta Edmonton, AB pork@ualberta.ca